Beauty / Health / Reviews

Origins face masks

origins masks set

I keep meaning to write about my last online purchase that I wanted to share with you all. I came across a great deal for Origins masks about two weeks ago on Boots; I was excited to see it and had to buy it straight away. It was 3 x 75ml Origins mask set for £20 where the original cost would be £23 for 100ml mask. Such a good bargain!

It was good timing as I needed to stock up on a clay mask and I had actually wanted the Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask. You can say I’m a pretty obsessed with skincare products, and trying lots of different masks. Just the other day while tidying up, I realised I have ALOT of different ones – paper masks, tubs, tubes… I’ll have to share with you my favourites some day!

So anyway, basically the set i purchased contained 3 different masks to draw out pore clogging impurities, replenish moisture and rescue oily skin and here’s what i think of them.

Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask Review

1. Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask Review
The active charcoal in this mask acts like a magnet to draw out all the dirt and debris from your skin. The White China Clay absorbs the environmental pollutants and Lecithin dissolves impurities, all in all, leaving your pores clean.

What do I think of it? Well, I’ve been using it for a few years now, I have not exactly been great at using it on a weekly basis but it does its job better than some other brands that I have tried out there. This is one of the few clay masks that i like using. With all the city’s pollutants, and being one who likes to wear makeup, I like to make sure that my skin gets a good proper deep down clean so it can breathe and be ready to absorb my moisturiser more effectively and this does a good job at it. Like many products out there, despite its name with the words ‘clear improvement’, don’t expect a miraculous change with just one usage.

Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask Review

2. Drink Up Intensive Overnight Mask Review
This intense moisture mask contains avocado oil and apricot kernel oil to replace your skin’s moisture loss. The Japanese seaweed repairs skins barrier to prevent future dehydration and signs of premature ageing. This mask is more for people with dry and dehydrated skin types.

What do I think of it? Firstly, I don’t have dry skin, I’m more of the normal to combination type, but on those cold, dry days especially, or when I start to see some flakiness, I like to use my moisturising masks. For this mask, I love the fragrance it smells fruity and smells like something I could eat but I always like to avoid very fragrant products as I believe it’s not good and could cause irritants. The mask is a bit sticky and took some time to fully absorb so i was very cautious on not moving around too much which is difficult for me as i toss and turn a lot when sleeping.. On application it felt heavy like the existence of a thick layer of cream or something sitting on my face. The results were ok, it helped moisturize my skin a bit but I would say it’s so-so for me; it helped a little on dryness but nothing significant. I read a lot of reviews with a big wow factor of plumpness and glowing skin – which I did not experience. When i rinsed my face in the morning my skin felt really soft, but after rinsing some more i could feel a layer of something on my skin which made this effect. It’s like certain face washes after rinsing you get this ‘squeaky clean’ fake effect on your skin which i actually really dislike, I could feel a thin layer of that on my face. Floors and surfaces should feel like that, not my face.

Origins Out of Trouble 10 minute Mask Review

3. Out of Trouble 10 minute Mask Review
This mask is to rescue problem skin and keep it out of trouble. It contains super-absorbent zinc oxide and sulfur salicylic acid which provides calming and skin-sloughing effects. It helps reduce oily shine, removes sticky, dead cells and impurities, minimizes the formation of acne and refines skin texture.

What do I think of it? I’ve also been using this for a few years now and its one of my favourites. I don’t really get much problems with my skin, sometimes the sudden breakouts from seasonal changes and the odd spot here and there. I use this for those days! I think it works great, and calms the spots and problem areas, reducing redness and inflammation. I notice the spots fade away a bit quicker than normal if I had left it. Upon application, it feels quite minty and has a tingly feeling which I like. I usually just dab it on the problem areas or on the T-zone if greasier than normal. I’ve even used it with the Clear Improvement Active Charcoal mask and slathered that on where I haven’t used the Out of Trouble mask, can you imagine? It does looks a bit crazy, like some kind of bad face painting art going on, but as long as I know it’s helping my skin and not out on the streets looking like that!

Have you tried Origin’s masks? Which one is your favourite? 

 

C-signature

One thought on “Origins face masks

Leave a Reply

